Barbara Hannigan awarded Rolf Schock Prize 2018


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Academy of Fine Arts and the Royal Swedish Academy of Music have awarded this year’s Rolf Schock Prize for Musical Arts to Barbara Hannigan.

“Hannigan is an extraordinary and innovative performer with a dynamic and intensive approach to the music she performs, often pure virtuoso stage interpretations, in which she often simultaneously assumes both the role of soloist and conductor. Her repertoire covers an impressive field, with great interest in new music. For a number of years she has also run a unique mentoring project, Equilibrium Young Artists, which focuses on young and newly professional musicians around the world.”

Hannigan is one of four individuals to win the prestigious Swedish award this year. The other Laureates include Saharon Shelah (Logic and Philosophy), Ronald Coifman (Mathematics) and Andrea Branzi (Visual Arts).

Göran K. Hansson, Chair of the Rolf Schock Foundation and Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences: “I am particularly delighted to highlight a prize that so clearly unites science and art, entirely in accordance with Rolf Schock’s will. This year’s Laureates demonstrate the breadth of the work of the awarding academies. They have all been incredibly creative and leading in their fields.”

About the prize

Rolf Schock, who left a great fortune on his death in 1986, stated in his will that the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences should name one Laureate in logics and philosophy and one in mathematics, that the Royal Academy of Fine Arts should name a Laureate in one of the visual arts and that the Royal Swedish Academy of Music should name a Laureate in one of the musical arts.

Laureates of the Rolf Schock prize for Musical Arts have included György Ligeti, Jorma Panula, Kaija Saariaho, Anne Sofie von Otter, Gidon Kremer and Herbert Blomstedt.

This year’s award ceremony will be held at the Royal Swedish Academy of Fine Arts on 15 October 2018.
More information will be available at

photo credit: Elmer de Haas